Still here, still planning…sometimes.

What a holiday season! The time flew by, and truly, I enjoyed it so much more than I have in the past. I’m not sure if it was not having work to distract me from spending time with my family, or just the phase of life I’m in now, but I really enjoyed all of the celebrations and family time.

I also had a two week “strike” from cooking and meal planning! We ate leftovers, ordered in, made random meals, but really, didn’t cook very much at all, aside from breakfast. (I got back to making my favorite homemade hash browns which are an absolute must if you love them crispy!)

We spent last week (the kids’ first week back at school) making their favorites that I’ve already talked about so much–broccoli cheese soup, enchilada casserole, fried rice, and I also had the opportunity to make Ina Garten’s Company Pot Roast again (I made it maybe a year ago and have been thinking about it since.) Served with mashed potatoes, it’s the perfect meal to accompany Chicago’s current sub-zero temperatures!

While last week, I was back to planning, this week with the holiday and the cold temperatures (and bonus days off school), I’m winging it. I’ll keep you posted if I make anything note-worthy.

‘Til next week, my friends. (Maybe. Trying to get back into a routine and keep some variety in the meals over here!)

Leave a comment